As we head towards the end of another season, the pressure is begining to grow on a number of managers in the Sky Bet Championship. But who has managed to hold their position for the longest time?

5. Slavisa Jokanovic (Fulham) – 2 years, 2 months and 1 day

Having been appointed as Fulham’s boss in December 2015, Jokanovic has achieved mixed success. His first five months saw him guide the Cottagers to a 20th-place finish, ending the season eleven points above the drop zone. The London side exited the FA Cup and League Cup at the Third Round stage.

In his second season as boss, Jokanovic led the Cottagers to the Sky Bet Championship play-offs. Despite making it to the play-offs, where they met Jaap Stam’s Reading, that was where their season ended as a 1-1 draw in the first leg was succeeded by a 1-0 defeat in the second leg.

This season the Cottagers continue to search for a promotion to the Premier League. The London side currently sit fifth in the standings. While the automatic promotions spots may be out of reach – with Wolverhampton and Cardiff City fourteen and eight points clear respectively – a strong finish could give the Whites a helping hand in the play-offs.

4. Nigel Clough (Burton Albion) – 2 years, 2 months and 21 days

Having retired as a player with Burton Albion in July 2008, Clough returned to manage the Brewers – for his second time – in December 2015. Just five months after arriving as manager at the Pirelli Stadium, Clough promoted the Staffordshire side into the Sky Bet Championship.

As the club entered their first ever season in the Sky Bet Championship, the aim was to avoid relegation. Under Clough’s guidance they successfully secured their English second-tier status, finishing in 20th and a point above the bottom three.

This season, however, a return to England’s third division in on the cards. The Brewers find themselves three points adrift of safety. But, should they gain a couple more wins, then they could potentially surive and secure their Sky Bet Championship status for a second successive season.

1 2 3

About Author

Leave A Reply