League 2 club Hartlepool United have announced that six players have been released as manager Craig Hignett looks to build a side capable of a more solid season in 2016-2017 according to the Hartlepool Mail. 

Pools released youngsters Peter Denton, Ebby Nelson-Addy and Kudus Oyenuga yesterday but have now added Scott Fenwick, Scott Harrison and Harry Worley to the exit list following the club’s scheduled training session this morning.

Craig Hignett has made the decision to retain a number of players with Matthew Bates, Jake Carroll, Kieran Green, Carl Magnay, Rhys Oates, Billy Paynter, Jordan Richards, Connor Smith and Brad Walker all remaining at Victoria Park next season after the club took up options to extend the players’ contracts.

Hartlepool United are yet to confirm whether talks have taken place with Rakish Bingham, Rob Jones, Michael Woods, Michael Duckworth and Dan Jones although the majority of those players are likely to feature in Pools boss Hignett’s plans.

After once again flirting with relegation into non league abyss, Hartlepool United secured their League 2 safety with the club enjoying a significant upturn in form following Hignett’s appointment as manager in early February.

Next season’s budget will remain competitive at Victoria Park however the club must let a number of fringe players leave before new arrivals can be planned this summer.

About Author

I am Dan Pentland a writer and reporter for The72 and Chelsea Presser websites and editor and owner of FAWSL Full-Time magazine. Regularly reporting from EFL matches, FAWSL fixtures and various internationals. Completed the 92 in 2015! Contact me on Twitter @danpentlandpcuk or via E-mail [email protected]

Leave A Reply