Mick McCarthy has named his starting eleven for Ipswich Town’s FA Cup encounter against Portsmouth at Portman Road tomorrow. He has made changes to the side which featured in their last game; a draw away to Burnley.

There is a debut for recent loan signing Paul Digby, whilst Daryl Murphy is amongst those who miss out; with a calf injury ruling the Republic of Ireland international out of contention. Luke Varney also makes his first start for the club since May.

Ipswich’s starting eleven is as follows:

Bartosz Bialkowski

Luke Chambers, Piotr Malarczyk, Paul Digby, Jonas Knudsen

Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Cole Skuse, Luke Hyam, Tommy Oar

Luke Varney, Brett Pitman

Others who miss out are Teddy Bishop and David McGoldrick, who have both been out of action for some time with their own respective injury problems. Ipswich have a league game against Leeds United at Portman Road on Tuesday night.

McCarthy is no stranger to rotating his team throughout his managerial career, not necessarily just for cup matches. He was criticised for making eleven changes to his Wolverhampton Wanderers side in a Premier League away game to Manchester United. They lost that game, with McCarthy electing to rest players ahead of another crucial game that was coming up.

About Author

I currently work as a Championship Research Analyst for Onside Analysis Ltd. In this role I provide match previews and reviews for every Championship game. I also delve into matches from all across the globe, gaining an insight into football from different leagues in different countries. I came into this role shortly after graduating from The University of Hull after studying BSc Sports Coaching & Performance. I am a Lincoln City fan and thankfully they're back in The72!!

Leave A Reply