Burton Albion

Retained List: Burton Albion reveal a shock departure

Burton Albion have today unveiled their retained list following their debut season in the Sky Bet Championship, where they avoided relegation with a few games to spare. A total of five players have been told that they are no longer needed, including one major surprise.

Also, Burton have elected to offer contracts to eight first team players in the hope that they’ll stay on. Ten more were already under contract based on their existing deals, whilst the Brewers have taken up one-year options to keep a further three on the books with the club.

The big news is that goalkeeper Jon McLaughlin has been told that he can leave. He was virtually an ever-present over this last season, only ever missing out because of injury. Manager Nigel Clough explained his reasoning behind this, saying he ‘we want to move into a different direction with a different kind of goalkeeper’. He departs after three seasons with the club. Experienced midfielder Lee Williamson also moves on, but that is no surprise given he barely featured in the second half of the season later on. Phil Edwards, Callum Reilly and Charlie Gatter also seeks pastures new.

Stephen Bywater and Harry Campbell have both been offered extensions. The pair could begin next season as first and second choice goalkeeper respectively, unless Clough signs an additional shotstopper. Northern Ireland international full back Tom Flanagan and commanding defender Ben Turner are also part of Clough’s plans. The versatile John Mousinho, pacey winger Lloyd Dyer and powerful forward Marvin Sordell have been offered extended deals to remain at the Pirelli Stadium too. Veteran centre back Shaun Barker completes this list.

Finally, the trio of Marcus Harness, Marcus Dinanga and Sam Hornby will be staying for another year at the very least after options within their existing deals were taken to keep them on board.

Released: Jon McLaughlin, Lee Williamson, Phil Edwards, Callum Reilly & Charlie Gatter.

Offered contracts: Tom Flanagan, John Mousinho, Ben Turner, Marvin Sordell, Lloyd Dyer, Stephen Bywater, Harry Campbell & Shaun Barker.

One-year options taken on existing deals: Marcus Harness, Marcus Dinanga & Sam Hornby.

Previous Article
Charlton Athletic

Charlton Athletic and Preston North End considering move for Irish star

Next Article
Mansfield, Retained List: Steve Evans lets 11 players go at Mansfield

Retained List: Steve Evans lets 11 players go at Mansfield

Related Posts