Presenting the inside scoop on the latest Football League news
Oldham Athletic

Retained List: Sheridan happy for six to leave Oldham

Sky Bet League One side Oldham Athletic are the latest club to confirm their retained list following the culmination of their campaign at the weekend. John Sheridan has allowed six players to leave, whilst five have been offered new deals at Boundary Park.

In addition to that, Oldham have taken up options to extend the contracts of four more individuals to extend their respective stays with the football club. Seven first-team squad members already remain under contract, so the Latics are certainly beginning to put shape to their shape for the new campaign.

We shall focus on those who will be staying at the club first and foremost, certainly to ease the anxiety for all you Oldham supporters! Perhaps the best news is that defender Ryan McLaughlin will be staying after an option was taken to extend his deal. The 22-year-old Northern Irishman started 31 of their 46 league games last season. Darius Osei was a frequent substitute, but he shall be staying, along with Jamie Stott and Kallum Mantack.

Now, six have been allowed to exit the football club. After two years, 31-year-old midfielder Lee Croft exits to seek pastures new. He scored once in 27 appearances for the club last season. A year after signing from Motherwell, defender Josh Law is another to move on, along with Jamie Reckford, another to join the club from Scotland after previously playing for Ross County. Michael Ngoo departs after the end of his short term deal, in addition to midfielder Charles Dunne. Youngster Liam Knight completes the list of those now searching for a new club.

Brian Wilson has been offered extended terms, hoping to remain at the club he signed for in 2014, making him one of the longest-serving members of the squad. Vastly experienced central midfielder Paul Green is another who Sheridan certainly wants to keep at the club. Goalkeeper Chris Kettings and also both Tope Obadeyi and George Edmundson have been given contracts to sign.

Released: Josh Law, Lee Croft, Jamie Reckford, Michael Ngoo, Lee Knight & Charles Dunne.

Options taken on new deals: Ryan McLaughlin, Jamie Stott, Darius Osei & Kallum Mantack.

Offered new contracts: Brian Wilson, Chris Kettings, Paul Green, Tope Obadeyi & George Edmundson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Article

National League player of the year joins Peterborough United

Next Article

Peterborough United fans react to Non-League Golden Boot signing

Related Posts