Presenting the inside scoop on the latest Football League news
Norwich City

Retained List: Seven to depart managerless Norwich City

Norwich City have today revealed that seven first-team squad players will not be offered new contracts for next season. Among those is long-serving goalkeeper and former England international John Ruddy, who was been with the club since signing from Everton in 2010.

Also, central defender Ryan Bennett is the second casualty. He has enjoyed plenty of football this season, but like Ruddy, is someone who is deemed to be surplus to requirements at Carrow Road. However it isn’t all negative news, as talented youngster Declan Rudd and Harry Toffolo both extend their deals with the club for an additional season.

Alan Irvine remains in caretaker charge, but has stated that he doesn’t wish to be considered for the job next season. Therefore, recently appointed sporting director Stuart Webber has not only been heading the search for a new manager, but also putting plans into place regarding recruitment ahead of what the Canaries hope will be an improved showing next season.

The five remaining players to leave the club are all vastly experienced, but have mostly been fringe players under Irvine, and also Alex Neil, who was sacked earlier in the campaign. Sebastien Bassong, Steven Whittaker, Youssouf Mulumbu, Michael Turner and Kyle Lafferty have all been allowed to leave. None of these have played a big role this year and it isn’t a great shock to see these won’t be offered fresh terms by the club.

To be released this summer: John Ruddy, Sebastien Bassong, Steven Whittaker, Ryan Bennett, Youssouf Mulumbu, Michael Turner & Kyle Lafferty.

Option take to extend contract by a year: Declan Rudd & Harry Toffolo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Article
Norwich City

Norwich fans react to former England international leaving

Next Article

Retained List: Relegated Chesterfield allow 12 to depart

Related Posts