Presenting the inside scoop on the latest Football League news

Retained List: Surprising names transfer listed by Peterborough United

Peterborough United have today issued their retained list following the conclusion of the Sky Bet League One campaign. In line with club policy, those entering the final year of their contracts are instantly transfer listed. Those include Marcus Maddison and Michael Bostwick, plus five more.

Also, Peterborough have confirmed that a total of four players have been transfer listed, and none of those are entering the last year of their deal, so they are simply free to leave in the eyes of manager Grant McCann, should a suitable offer be received. A total of 17 players currently remain under contract for next season.

Craig Mackail-Smith and Luke McGhee, who were both on loan from Luton Town and Tottenham Hotspur respectively, have both returned to their parent club as well.

Most fans outside of Peterborough will be surprised to see the names of Maddison and Bostwick among those transfer listed. Although both are key men in McCann’s squad, none are exempt from a club policy whereby all those entering the last year of their deals are transfer listed. It is hoped both of these will eventually agree extensions, although there will be several takers for them should they wish to move on.

Striker Luke James, who joined the club from Hartlepool United for a big fee in 2014, also falls into this category having entered the last year of his deal. Lee Angol, another striker, and who played a big part in helping Lincoln City regain English Football League status out on loan this season, is also transfer listed. Full back Hayden White, forward Jordan Nicholson and defender Jerome Binnom-Williams completes this list.

Brad Inman has been transfer listed outright, despite only joining the club from Crewe Alexandra at the start of the season. Full back Michael Smith and striker Shaquile Coulthirst are available for transfer as well, in addition to former West Bromwich Albion youngster Adil Nabi.

Transfer listed (as part of club policy for entering the last year of their contracts): Michael Bostwick, Marcus Maddison, Lee Angol, Jordan Nicholson, Jerome Binnom-Williams, Hayden White & Luke James.

Transfer listed: Abil Nabi, Brad Inman, Michael Smith & Shaquile Coulthirst.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Article

Retained List: 8 leave Bristol Rovers but 5 offered extensions

Next Article

Retained List: Nine leave Coventry but talks continue with many more

Related Posts