Presenting the inside scoop on the latest Football League news

Retained List: Relegated Chesterfield allow 12 to depart

Chesterfield manager Gary Caldwell has confirmed that he has offered contracts to four members of his first-team squad, hoping their be part of an intended promotion push out of League Two next season. Unfortunately, the cost of relegation means that 12 players have been officially released by the club.

Among those is PFA Chairman Ritchie Humphries, who has been with the club since 2013, but it is understood he has been offered a full-time coaching role with the relegated Spireites. Club captain and experienced centre back Ian Evatt has been offered a new deal, along with 27-year-old midfielder Dan Gardner.

Defender Laurence Maguire and striker Ria Simons, both under the age of 21, have both been offered contracts, possibly with one eye on the future in what is something of an ageing squad at the Proact Stadium.

Liam Graham, an international midfielder for New Zealand, has been allowed to depart after making just four league appearances for the club this season. Two goalkeepers have also been culled ahead of the new campaign, with the vastly experienced Thorsten Stuckmann and former Huddersfield Town youngster Lloyd Allinson been allowed to seek pastures new.

Three players who enjoyed a fair degree of playing time over the last season have also been told to find new clubs. They are headlined by former Wolves & Man Utd striker Sylvan Ebanks-Blake, who netted just two league goals this season. Left-sided Dan Jones started just eleven league games over the past season and the ex-Port Vale man will be searching for new employment. Spaniard midfielder Angel Martinez, once on the books at Espanyol, has also been freed up to leave as well.

Charlie Raglan and Jay O’Shea, who have been out on loan at Oxford United and Sheffield United this season respectively, will also be free to go. O’Shea is likely to pen a permanent deal at Bramall Lane. Finally, youngsters Curtis Morrison, Jake Beesley and Sadiq El Fitouri, who only made an handful of appearances between them, also depart.

Not offered new contracts: Sylvan Ebanks-Blake, Dan Jones, Angel Martinez, Ritchie Humphreys, Liam Graham, Curtis Morrison, Jake Beesley, Thorsten Stuckmann, Lloyd Allinson, Sadiq El Fitouri, Jay O’Shea & Charlie Raglan.

Offered extensions: Ian Evatt, Dan Gardner, Laurence Maguire & Rai Simons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Article
Norwich City

Retained List: Seven to depart managerless Norwich City

Next Article

Charlton striker discusses importance of Ricky Holmes

Related Posts