Presenting the inside scoop on the latest Football League news

Leeds United: club release squad numbers for 2016/17

The last piece has fallen into place before the start of the 2016/17 SkyBet Championship season for Leeds United as the club release their squad numbers for the upcoming campaign.

There are few surprises for Leeds fans to digest, possibly the most welcome ones are the inclusions of highly rated youngsters Ronaldo Vieira and Tyler Denton in the first-team reckoning from the off.The inclusion of Vieira as a bona fide first-teamer from the start of the season will be a sweet sight for Leeds United fans’ eyes with the 18-year-old impressing massively in pre-season games where he has featured, The same can be said for youngster Denton, a player who has impressed many in what he has shown in the pre-season games that he has featured in.

Less surprising is the installing of new keeper Robert Green as the #1 for the season with Marco Silvestri having to settle for a back-up role this season. Silvestri has come under a lot of fan focus and criticism with the inconsistency in his displays, fans praising his shot-stopping whilst criticising his general collection of the ball and command of the area. Green and Silvestri are two of four keepers given squad numbers for the upcoming campaign with Ross Turnbull (22) and  rated youngster Bailey Peacock-Farrell (30) rounding off the quartet.

Jordan Botaka, who many think will head out on loan has been given a squad number (20) which is heartening to see after his début season was wrecked by a lack of game time with Uwe Rosler and a very public criticism of him by Garry Monk’s predecessor in Steve Evans.

As per the official club website, here’s Leeds 2016/17 squad numbers in full:

  • 1. Robert Green
  • 3. Sol Bamba
  • 4. Toumani Diagouraga
  • 5. Kyle Bartley
  • 6. Liam Cooper
  • 7. Kemar Roofe
  • 8. Luke Murphy
  • 9. Chris Wood
  • 10. Marcus Antonsson
  • 11. Souleymane Doukara
  • 12. Marco Silvestri
  • 15. Stuart Dallas
  • 16. Matt Grimes
  • 19. Pablo Hernandez
  • 20. Jordan Botaka
  • 21. Charlie Taylor
  • 22. Ross Turnbull
  • 23. Kalvin Phillips
  • 24. Hadi Sacko
  • 25. Ronaldo Vieira
  • 27. Alex Mowatt
  • 28. Gaetano Berardi
  • 30. Bailey Peacock-Farrell
  • 31. Lewie Coyle
  • 33. Tyler Denton
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Article
Wigan Athletic

Liverpool midfielder set to move to Wigan Athletic

Next Article
Aston Villa

Aston Villa bid for three unnamed players

Related Posts