Presenting the inside scoop on the latest Football League news

Last 5 Championship Golden Glove winners – where are they

Ever since the 2011/12 season, the Football League haven’t ran an annual Golden Glove Award winner. The Premier League continue to do this. Instead, monthly awards are handed out to the respective goalkeepers.

We thought we would check out the whereabouts of the last five to win the yearly gong in the Championship.

With the exception of the 2010/11 season, there have been five Championship keepers to win this award. One of them is still playing at this level for a different club. Some have moved into coaching. Some in different directions.

Therefore, let us look back at the last five winners of this award. Beginning with the most recent, 2011/12.

Golden Glove Winner (2011/12) – Adam Federici (Reading)

Brian McDermott guided Reading to the Championship title during this season. The goals of Adam Le Fondre, Noel Hunt and co certainly helped, but their keeper was very steady.

The Australian Federici quickly earned a reputation for being one of the brighter goalkeepers outside the Premier League. They would only concede 41 goals during that campaign, the fewest of all in the league. This was key, as they actually scored less compared to the following four teams in the table.

So, where is Mr Federici now? Well, he did manage to remain in the Premier League and has been for the past season. His Reading contract expired this time last year, and quite a few clubs were interested. AFC Bournemouth and Eddie Howe won the race to his signature. He managed to play 12 times for the Cherries last season, half coming in cup competitions.

Click onto the next page to see where the 2009/10 winner is!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Article
Charlton Athletic

Former Sheffield Wednesday defender starts training with Charlton

Next Article
Wigan Athletic

Twitter Reacts - Out-of-contract Wigan midfielder joins MLS club

Related Posts