Presenting the inside scoop on the latest Football League news
Retained List

Retained List: 14 to leave Fleetwood

Fleetwood Town have certainly taken their time in naming their retained list, especially considering they were not involved in the end of season play-offs, like most of the other clubs yet to unveil theirs. Nevertheless, Steven Pressley has now confirmed the Fleetwood version.

A total of 14 players are free to leave Highbury Stadium, although that includes goalkeeper Chris Maxwell, who already agreed a move to Preston North End a few weeks ago. Also, Antoni Sarcevic is transferring to Shrewsbury Town. Eight already remain under contract, options have been taken to extend the stays of eight more, whilst four have been offered new deals and two more signing contracts…………and breath!

Options have been taken to extend the contracts of eight players, who had clauses in their contracts saying their deals could be extending should they make a certain amount of appearances. These are headlined by Bobby Grant, who ended the season at Fleetwood’s top scorer last season with eleven goals. Midfielder Eggert Jonsson also stays on.

The remainder of players to have contract extension clauses invoked are Keano Deacon, Keiran Dunbar, Nick Haughton, Ash Hunter, Marcus Nilsson and Akil Wright.

Youngsters Mamadou Djabi and Nathan Sheron have both signed new contracts. Long serving defender Nathan Pond, in addition to Tyler Forbes, Jack Sowerby and Thomas Grant have all been offered new deals. The club await their response.

Now, lets get on to the big news in the form of the 14 players who are free to leave the club. As already mentioned, Maxwell and Sarcevic have already fixed up moves elsewhere.

Those to leave are headlined by ex-Newcastle United and Bolton Wanderers striker Shola Ameobi, who scored once for the club during his short-term stay at Highbury Stadium. Ex-Man City defender Stephen Jordan exits having started 20 League One games last season. Fellow left back Danny Andrew also moves on having struggled for regular game time. Jamille Matt ended the season on loan at Plymouth Argyle, he will also be leaving.

The following players have also been allowed to go: Max Cartwright, Keir Dickson, Aleks Gogic, Brendan Moore, Bradley Roscoe, Conor Smith, Matty Williams and Harvey Hodd.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Article
Sheffield Wednesday

Championship duo withdraw from Scotland squad to face France

Next Article
Rotherham United

Ex Leeds United boss tells Stubbs he'll love Rotherham

Related Posts