, #RETAINED – Derby release two long-serving players

#RETAINED – Derby release two long-serving players

N.B: Derby’s retained list was released on 12 May but other commitments have postponed the publishing of this article.

Derby have announced the release of Shaun Barker and Jamie Ward in their retained list.

The two players have been at the club since 2009 and 2011 respectively, while Barker was even captain for the Rams at one point.

Unfortunately for Barker he has been unable to play many games for the club due to several injuries, including a career-threatening knee injury back in 2012. He has been able to train this year and even went on trial at Sheffield United but Derby have decided to end his time with them.

Ward is another player who has played a key role for the Rams in his time at Pride Park – he made 29 appearances during the 2014/15 season and managed to bag six goals. In total he has played 149 times for them in four years. However, he too is on his way out of the club.

Also leaving are Zak Whitbread and Lee Naylor after just one year at Derby, while Tom Naylor and Mark O’Brien – who both spent the season out on loan at separate clubs – will also be looking for pastures new.

John Eustace’s contract with the club also runs out this summer and the club have yet to offer him a new deal. But, Derby are still reviewing his situation and may still offer him a new contract.


Four Under-21 players and seven Under-18 players have also been released.

Here is the full retained list:

Players who will not be offered new deals at the club: Jamie Ward, Lee Naylor, Mark O’Brien, Shaun Barker, Tom Naylor, Zak Whitbread and John Eustace.

Players who will return to their parent clubs after a loan spell at the club: Tom Ince, Omar Mascarell, Darren Bent and Jesse Lingard.

Under-21 players who have been offered new deals: Jonathan Mitchell and Farrend Rawson.

Under-21 players who will not be offered a new deal at the club: Ross Etheridge, Josh Lelan, Rhys Sharpe and Luke Hendrie.

Under-18’s Players who will be released: Jorna Moulton, Tom Bennett, Tom Rigby, Eric Behrens, Guy Clennett, Sam Dryden and Mo Adams.

Under -18’s players who will become first year professionals: Max Lowe, Charles Vernam and Jack Tuite.

Under-18’s players who are entering second year scholarships: Alex Babos, Josh Barnes, Jared Bird, James Carvell, Alex Cover, Kellan Gordon, Calum MacDonald, Tom Mellors, Kyron Stabana and Ethan Wassall.

Players who will become first year scholars in July: Matthew Yates, Jahvan Davidson-Miller, Micah Edwards, Joseph Bateman, Giann Magno and Harry Goode.

For the official article on the club’s website, click here.

For the official article on the club’s Under 18 players click here.

Previous Article
, The 10%er – Preston North End win League One Play-Off Final

The 10%er - Preston North End win League One Play-Off Final

Next Article
, 5 Reasons Why Blues Can Achieve Play-Offs Next Season

5 Reasons Why Blues Can Achieve Play-Offs Next Season

Related Posts