The FIFA World Cup begins in Russia tomorrow with the hosts kicking off against Saudi Arabia at 16:00 GMT, but did you know that 28 players from the Football League will be taking part in the competition?

We go through each group here and which players from which sides will feature at the World Cup in Russia over the next month.

Group A (Russia, Uruguay, Egypt and Saudi Arabia)

Only Egypt have any Football League players in this group, with West Brom duo Ali Gabr and Ahmed Hegazi making up the numbers from the Hawthorns. Aston Villa full-back Ahmed Elmohamady also features for his country making up the final of three FL players in the Egyptian squad.

Group B (Portugal, Spain, Morocco and Iran)

Ashkan Dejagah is the only FL player in this group featuring for Iran and representing Nottingham Forest for his country at the World Cup.

Group C (France, Australia, Peru and Denmark)

Australia are taking four Football League players to Russia with them, with Tim Cahill and James Meredith of Millwall both earning calls ups to their international sides. Mile Jedinak of Aston Villa and Jackson Irvine of Hull City are the other two players who will feature for the Socceroos.

Denmark have given Jonas Knudsen of Ipswich Town and Henrik Dalsgaard of Brentford both an opportunity to showcase their talents in the World Cup next month as well.

Group D (Argentina, Iceland, Croatia and Nigeria)

Iceland are the only team to take any Football League players to Russia in this group and they take three players with them. Birkir Bjarnason of Aston Villa will be featuring for the shock Euro 2016 quarter-finalists alongside Hörður Björgvin Magnússon of Bristol City. Jón Daði Böðvarsson makes up the numbers of front for Iceland and will represent Reading at this World Cup.

About Author

Journalist for @FBL72. Mainly cover Bradford City and various other clubs based in Yorkshire, Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire.

Leave A Reply