Burton Albion have announced their retained list for next season.

Since relegation from the Championship was confirmed on the final day, Nigel Clough has acted swiftly in order to start building a squad that can gain promotion from League One.

The Brewers currently have 15 players under contract at the Pirelli Stadium, and only Tom Flanagan is being made available for transfer.

Six players who are out of contract are being offered new deals, including Lloyd Dyer and Jake Buxton.

IN OTHER NEWS:  West Brom centre-back has head turned by Egyptian interest

The four loan players at Burton will return to their parent clubs, and 5 players out of contract will leave the side.

Lloyd Dyer, Damien McCrory, Tom Naylor, Hope Akpan, Jake Buxton, and Harry Campbell have all been offered new deals by Nigel Clough who is looking to keep a settled side for next season.

It may come as a suprise to many to see Buxton offered a new deal as his injury plagued season restricted him to just eleven appearances in a Brewers shirt.

IN OTHER NEWS:  Birmingham City closing in on £650,000 deal for ex-Barnsley and Oxford United loanee

Stephen Warnock, Luke Varney, Jayden Cotterill, Jack Hallahan, and Shaun Barker will now all leave the club.

Warnock and Barker have both taken the option to retire from the game.

Luke Murphy, Darren Bent, Jacob Davenport, and Martin Samuelsen will return to their parent clubs after loan spells in the Midlands.

Speaking to the club website, Nigel Clough said “The key is trying to keep the squad together. Whether we had stayed up or not every player is available as that is the nature of the club and that hasn’t changed at all.

IN OTHER NEWS:  Could pre-season omission mean curtains for Leeds United stopper?

“It will be a different set of challenges but as difficult in its own way. Our best chance is to keep these players and to challenge them and say ‘come on, we were a few minutes off staying in the Championship, go and prove yourselves in League One’.”

About Author