Sky Bet League One play-off semi-finalists Fleetwood Town have this afternoon confirmed their retained list. Uwe Rosler exceeded all expectations by guiding the Cod Army to fourth in the league standings. Bradford City saw them off over two legs, and now all focus goes onto next season at the same level.

Rosler has only decided to allow two members of his first-team squad to depart this summer. Six more players have been offered extensions in the hope that they will ensure Fleetwood remain on an upward curve over the next year too.

After one season at Highbury Stadium, winger Martyn Woolford has been allowed to move on. He scored just one solitary goal in that period, which came all the way back in September in the home victory against Coventry City. In total, he made just 13 appearances for the club. 22-year-old striker Declan McManus will also be moving on. He spent the entire season on loan at Raith Rovers, scoring nine goals in their relegation campaign. His last appearance for Fleetwood came in November 2015.

Top scorer David Ball has understandably been offered an extension to remain with the club. As has Northern Ireland defender Conor McLaughlin. Experienced midfielder Jimmy Ryan is someone else Rosler wishes to keep on board, in addition to Godswill Ekpolo, Nick Haughton and Victor Nirrenold.

Released: Martyn Woolford & Declan McManus.

Offered new contract: David Ball, Godswill Ekpolo, Nick Haughton, Conor McLaughlin, Victor Nirrenold & Jimmy Ryan.

About Author

I currently work as a Championship Research Analyst for Onside Analysis Ltd. In this role I provide match previews and reviews for every Championship game. I also delve into matches from all across the globe, gaining an insight into football from different leagues in different countries. I came into this role shortly after graduating from The University of Hull after studying BSc Sports Coaching & Performance. I am a Lincoln City fan and thankfully they're back in The72!!